Holy Orders

Those moved by the Holy Spirit with a calling to a "more intimate" consecrated life by dedicating themselves totally to God as a priest, deacon, religious brother or sister of the Catholic order, should contact:

Fr. Jon Reardon at (413) 248-7034,
email [email protected]
or, speak to our pastor.

Visit the Diocesans Vocation web page for more information.

For permenant deacon inquires
contact the Diaconate Office at (413) 452-0674.



The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time.  This is a sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priest), and diaconate (deacon).

All Christians participate in the one priesthood of Christ. The whole community of believers is, as such, priestly.  Through the sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation the faithful are “consecrated to be…a holy priesthood.” 

Those who, after being baptized, receive the Sacrament of Holy Orders, also become part of the ministerial or hierarchical priesthood.  The ministerial priesthood is at the service of the common priesthood of all the baptized.  It is intended to unfold the baptismal grace of all Christians.  The ministerial priesthood is the means by which Christ continues to build up and lead his Church.

The Church confers the Sacrament of Holy Orders only on baptized men, whose suitability for the exercise of the ministry has been duly recognized. Church authority alone has the responsibility and right to call someone to receive the sacrament of Holy Orders.

To read more: Catechism of the Catholic Church (1536-1600)